You are here:    Home      2010      West Jones 40, Wayne County 14 (10/22/10)

West Jones 40, Wayne County 14 (10/22/10)

October 23, 2010

by Shanna Allen

The meeting of these two cross-town rivals was THE place to in Laurel MS. Fans came out in droves, proudly sporting black or orange to support their teams and packing West Jones High School’s stadium to full capacity leaving standing room only.

West Jones came out fierce and with a vengeance. Wayne County was the only team to hand them a loss last year, and they were not intending to lose again. West Jones quickly jumped to a 13-0 lead in the first quarter with a touchdown from Devontary Barnett and an interception that was returned for another touchdown. Wayne County then answered with two touchdowns of their own. Before the time ticked down to end the half, West Jones hit two field goals and the teams entered the locker room with the score 19-14, West Jones leading.

The West Jones defense and offense were both forces to be reckoned with. Their defense held Wayne County scoreless for the entire second half of the game, and their offense put 21 more points on the board for a final score of 40-14.

The team huddled up in the end zone as #4 Ben Stevens was presented the Great American Rivalry Series game MVP. Stevens was 22-33 with 308 yards and two touchdown passes. Coach Pierson was then presented the Great American Rivalry Series Championship Trophy as the Mustangs cheered.


  • Show All
  • West Jones vs Wayne Co – 2010

Comments are closed.

What is the Great American Rivalry Series?

Each fall for over a century, high school football has been the centerpiece for families and communities on Friday night. In 2004, iHigh, Inc. created the Great American Rivalry Series to celebrate this uniquely American sport and the cultural phenomenon of “Friday Night in America.” The Series shines the spotlight on top high school football rivalries across the nation, where long-standing traditions are valued, expectations are sky high, and followers are committed.