You are here:    Home      2012      PREVIEW: Napa vs. Vacaville (CA)

PREVIEW: Napa vs. Vacaville (CA)

October 16, 2012

The Napa Indians will play host to the Vacaville Bulldogs this Friday night in a pivotal Monticello Empire League matchup. Both teams are tied atop the League with 2-0 league records. The Bulldogs won last season’s game 35-21 and are now on a 3-game winning streak in the series. Vacaville finished 1st in the MEL last season with Napa right behind them in 2nd.

The Vacaville Bulldogs capped off an impressive 13-1 season in 2011 with a Sac-Joaquin Section Division II championship, their 3rd in program history. The Bulldogs have now won 3 straight MEL championships under Head Coach Mike Papadapoulus. The 2012 team will have the MEL co-Player of the Year back in Curtis Goins. Goins rushed for 1,456 yards and 17 touchdowns on the ground last year. Backing him up will be senior Jacob Te’o. Senior Nic Ardave will be under center for the Bulldogs. Ardave has thrown for over 800 yards and 11 touchdowns so far this season. On the line, senior Chris Lai will return at center along with junior Jeremy Sweaney at tight end/defensive end. Senior Tyler Cummins has established himself as Ardave’s go-to receiver. Defensively, the Bulldogs return their leading tackler from last season in senior linebacker Tim Scott. Scott recorded 54 solo tackles in 2011. The Bulldogs are off to a 4-3 start to the season going into Friday night’s game against the Indians.

The Napa Indians went 7-4 in 2011, enough to finish 2nd in the MEL. The Indians lost to Granite Bay in the first round of the Sac-Joaquin Section Division I playoffs. Head Coach Troy Mott’s team returns a large group of starters from last year’s squad, led by Dom Good at quarterback. Shawn Donaldson returns on the offensive line that includes; Conor McNamare, Kaleb Schnaible, Kyle Gentry, Miles McCardle and Trevor Pappas. They will try and carve out some running room for Zach Jones, Alex Rocha and Manny Aguirre who will all see carries throughout the season. Good’s receiver will be Austin Aaron, Max MacDonald, Mitch Spinelli and Devon Gorsuch. Chadd Frasier and Quin May will double as tight ends and defensive ends. Miles McCardle and Trevor Pappas will line up as tackles on the defensive lines. Dom Good and MacDonald will play free safety in the secondary, while Jones, Ryan Gustafson and Mitch Spinelli line up as cornerbacks. Jones received the award for Defensive Player of the Year at his team’s banquet. He also earned All-Napa County honors last year. The Indians come in with a 5-2 record and a 2-0 start in the MEL.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter @AmericanRivalry and to follow our Facebook page for info and updates on the Great American Rivalry Series!

Comments are closed.

What is the Great American Rivalry Series?

Each fall for over a century, high school football has been the centerpiece for families and communities on Friday night. In 2004, iHigh, Inc. created the Great American Rivalry Series to celebrate this uniquely American sport and the cultural phenomenon of “Friday Night in America.” The Series shines the spotlight on top high school football rivalries across the nation, where long-standing traditions are valued, expectations are sky high, and followers are committed.