You are here:    Home      2010      2010 Hall of Fame: Maurice ‘Mo’ Blankenship and Jay Graham

2010 Hall of Fame: Maurice ‘Mo’ Blankenship and Jay Graham

November 9, 2010

From Kannapolis A.L. Brown: Maurice “Mo” Blankenship

Mo was the 1990 SPC “Player of the Year.” During the 1990 Concord/Kannapolis game, he threw a touchdown pass to current A.L. Brown Head Coach Scott Jordan for the winning touchdown. Mo is a former state champion and All Conference player. He went on to quarterback at Elon University, where he was voted “Freshman of the Year” and Best Male Athlete, and was inducted into the Hall of Fame. He was drafted by the Montreal Expos in 1995 where he played and coached for nine years. He is currently the owner of Mo’s Hitting Factory.

From Concord High School: Jay Graham

During his three-year career at Concord High, Jay gained over 4000 yards and scored 57 touchdowns. In 1992 he was selected as a USA Today All-American. Jay is one of only two players to have his jersey retired by Concord. He went on to star at the University of Tennessee, scoring 25 touchdowns and rushing for 2600 yards to rank 6th on the Volunteers all-time rushing list. He also holds a school record for the most 100-yard rushing games with 10. Jay played six seasons in the NFL with the Baltimore Ravens, Seattle Seahawks, and the Green Bay Packers. He is currently the running backs coach for the South Carolina Gamecocks.

Comments are closed.

What is the Great American Rivalry Series?

Each fall for over a century, high school football has been the centerpiece for families and communities on Friday night. In 2004, iHigh, Inc. created the Great American Rivalry Series to celebrate this uniquely American sport and the cultural phenomenon of “Friday Night in America.” The Series shines the spotlight on top high school football rivalries across the nation, where long-standing traditions are valued, expectations are sky high, and followers are committed.