You are here:    Home      2010      2010 Hall of Fame: Cedric Jones and Burke Holtzclaw

2010 Hall of Fame: Cedric Jones and Burke Holtzclaw

October 15, 2010

From Lowndes High School: Cedric Jones
Cedric played in the rivalry for three years, encompassing five games. In the 1980 Region Championship, Cedric gained 155 yards on 28 carries and scored the only touchdown of the game in the fourth quarter for a 6-0 Viking victory. Led by Jones, the Vikings would win their first state championship in 1980. For his career, Jones would gain 2,913 yards and still holds the Viking record for most rushing yards in a game with 234 and in a season with 2,067.

From Valdosta High School: Burke Holtzclaw
Undefeated against the Vikings from the 7th grade on, Burke scored the first time he touched the ball on a 59-yard TD run as a seventh grader in a game vs. the Vikings. His junior year, he started at wide receiver and caught a TD pass at Martin Stadium. And in his senior year, he started at quarterback and led the Wildcats to a 28-7 victory over Lowndes as well as 1984 state and national championships.

Comments are closed.

What is the Great American Rivalry Series?

Each fall for over a century, high school football has been the centerpiece for families and communities on Friday night. In 2004, iHigh, Inc. created the Great American Rivalry Series to celebrate this uniquely American sport and the cultural phenomenon of “Friday Night in America.” The Series shines the spotlight on top high school football rivalries across the nation, where long-standing traditions are valued, expectations are sky high, and followers are committed.